Skip to content

Sources and versions

This site describes the Cancer Public Library as data dictionary version 4.0 (자료설명서 Ver 4.0, September 2026, with crosswalk version 2.0) describes it. Other official pages give older years and counts. This page lines them up, so that a figure seen elsewhere can be placed.

Current description

Dictionary version 4.0 describes the build as of June 2026:

  • registry diagnoses from 2012 through 2022, about 2.92 million registrations, with a person who has two cancers counted twice;
  • NHIS and HIRA files from 2007 through 2024;
  • deaths from 2012 through 2023;
  • COVID-19 confirmations and vaccinations from 2020 through 2023.

The samples follow the portal's data catalogs, downloaded 30 October 2026.

Other figures

Source Diagnosis years Count
Data dictionary version 4.0 (September 2026) 2012–2022 About 2.92 million registrations
Public-library overview on the portal 2012–2022 2,923,903 people
Portal home page, 29 October 2026 Not stated About 2.26 million people
Choi et al., 2024, describing the first release 2012–2019 1,983,499 people
Portal FAQ 2012–2019 Not stated

No official page explains how the home-page figure is counted. The 2024 profile and the FAQ describe the first release, in which claims began in 2012. The current library starts claims in 2007, so the years before a diagnosis are observed.

Samples

The catalog page lists six site samples (stomach, breast, colorectal, liver, lung, pancreas) and five staging samples (stomach, breast, colorectal, liver, lung). The library overview also names kidney and prostate samples, and the catalog page has no workbook for them. The sample page describes both kinds.